Bulletism: Surrealism techniques

This week I am doing bulletism. Bulletism is (Wikipedia) an artistic process that involves shooting ink at a blank piece of paper. The result is a type of ink blot. The artist can then develop images based on what is seen. My understanding from this definition is that bulletism is just splashing ink at a paper until it’s full and then giving meaning to what is on the paper. My final product of this project is as follows:

20140415-160707.jpg

I didn’t really have to make any sketches or have to chance to make mistakes during this project because all I had to do was gather around colours I found beautiful and splash them on the paper. For the meaning, I saw a quarter of a persons face in the painting. The blue at the right, top corner would be the mouth and the longest red splash through the left side would be the eyebrow. I would have defined this a lot better but I wanted to wait for the painting to dry and when it had dried I had already started on the next project. My plan during this term is to make a new project every week.

Leave a comment